Common Core & Essential Standards

Common Core and Essential Standards
Common Core and Essential Standards

On June 2, 2010, the North Carolina State Board adopted the Common Core and Essential State Standards, which was implemented during the 2012-2013 school year. The Common Core and Essential State Standards represent K-12 learning expectations in all areas of teaching and learning. The Standards reflect the knowledge and skills students need to be College and Career Ready by the end of high school.

The mission of the Randolph County Schools is to educate every child by creating a learning community with high expectations while maximizing educational opportunities and enabling all students to adapt in diverse 21st Century global society.

This site is designed to help our communities understand the changes underway to help students grow and prosper in the 21st Century as productive and successful citizens.

We believe that:

All students can learn.
All students will be taught in a safe and nurturing learning environment.
All students deserve a teacher who is qualified and well prepared.
All stakeholders share the responsibility and accountability for student learning.